Showing posts with label Yoo Inna. Show all posts
Showing posts with label Yoo Inna. Show all posts

Saturday, April 18, 2020

My Favorite Korean Drama Actresses


Let's be honest - most actors and actresses in the Kdrama scene are purely there for their looks, with very few actually having true acting abilities. Consequently, there are only a few actors that I actually enjoy watching and find likable in and of themselves, especially in the recent era of younger, idol-turned-actress domination in the Kdrama landscape.

I'm going to admit that as a fellow lady, I am much more critical of female roles, which have a tendency to be written in broad, simplistic strokes with "hard-working" yet unrealistically beautiful leads that I find hard to relate to. That said, there are certain actresses that somehow manage to bring their A-game to nearly all of their roles and are able to transform even the most one-dimensional of parts into something complex and easy to root for. Below are the ladies that I either respect for their talent or just plain like - you know, the ones who seem like genuinely good people who are dedicated to what they do. Just to caveat, I'm a little behind on Kdramas from the past couple years, and thus have a bias towards stars of the mid-2010s era.

Monday, July 29, 2019

What to watch this summer: My Top 3 K-drama rom-coms

 
There are few better feelings than cozying up on a warm summer evening to a really good rom-com for hours on end. Since it's been so long since I've done a K-drama review, I figured I'd round up my top three rom-coms of the last two years into one post, for folks to watch (or re-watch) and enjoy while the air is hot and we are in the mood for heady summer romances.

Tuesday, December 20, 2016

The Lonely and Shining Goblin: Episodes 1-6 Review


There's a total alchemy to this show, which has swept me up and makes me feel for the moments, both grand and small, around its star goblin. Gong Yoo has never been better, and what a role this is, with plenty of pathos and humor up for him to showcase. The other characters, from Eun Tak to the Reaper and Sunny, are also more or less likable and interesting in their own way, but there's no question that this is the story of one man and his quest for love and a perfectly human ending.


Thursday, July 21, 2016

Drama trends that need to stop: Casting significantly younger actresses with older actors


There's one awful "trend" in the Korean dramaverse that seems to have exploded this year - the casting of much younger, sometimes even below legal age actresses across from much older actors in romantic roles. This is now rampant to the point where I've nearly lost count of how many there have been in this year alone. It's also something that I'm growing ever more irritated and disturbed by, and wish will stop soon.

Wednesday, December 31, 2014

Year in Review 2014: A Year of Non-Completions


With the new year almost upon us, it's time to look back over all the dramas I partook in for 2014. This year resulted in the most non-completions of dramas yet. I feel like I watched a bajillion shows, but when I actually try to think of what was finished, I have trouble recalling. Turns out, that's because there were only three of those! This was the year of drama-dropping, where cute stories eventually resorted to cliches and needless angst while initially intriguing plots grew weary and repetitive.

But despite that, I had a fun time sampling the year's offerings and remain continually hopeful of finding the next satisfying watch to rave and rant over on this blog. Unfortunately (or perhaps happily?) my "To-Watch" list is growing impossibly massive due to the sheer volume of dramas that came out this year. I expect to be doing lots of catch-up watching well into 2015, but for now, let's discuss the many shows I did get to.

Saturday, August 30, 2014

Dramas Update: What I'm watching and what I've dropped for August


I thought it might be fun to do a regular series of posts where I update you on what I'm most eagerly watching every week and what hasn't worked out. Here's the August update:

Sunday, June 24, 2012

Queen In-Hyun's Man: Final review


I know there was a lot of antagonism at the end, both with the last-minute plot twist and RL love confession. It made me delay the watching of both episodes 15-16, as I feared both the angst and the silly reveal. However, having just finished them, I have to say I remain highly satisfied with the series and its conclusion. Yes, there's some logic-suspension required, but since this is a time-travel series that requires a level of that anyways, I didn't feel my mind stretched beyond believability. In fact, I liked the ending, with its perfect turmoil and sweet resolution.

Saturday, May 12, 2012

Queen In-Hyun's Man: Episodes 1-5 Thoughts


I've gotten extremely behind on kdramas recently, primarily just due to lack of appeal relative to the many American options (e.g. Revenge). However, one of them caught my eye with its flashy, gorgeous promo shots, and turns out to be even better than I'd hoped. Queen In-Hyun's Man is now at the top of my watchlist with its beautiful scenes and seamless mixing of the modern with the past.