Monday, May 9, 2011

How to Meet a Perfect Neighbor


So as all of you probably figured, I'm a huge Park Shi Hoo fan, and for valid reasons, as I've rarely seen a better actor with a more scene-stealing, charming on-screen persona than the one he exudes. And unlike other actors who have maybe one compelling role and then a bunch of mediocre, dry pieces (Joe Cheng, along with pretty much all other kdrama male leads), PSH is incredibly consistent. That's why despite two attempts to sidekick him into a second-lead role, his charisma wins over fans and he edges right up over the initial male lead.

Sunday, May 8, 2011

Dream High


Although I feel a bit too grown-up now for high school dramas, I thought I'd give Dream High a try due to the heavily positive reviews online, and because the cast was interesting (I enjoyed Taecyeon in Cinderella's Sister as well as Ham Eun Jung in Coffee House). I ultimately feel that it wasn't my sort of drama, but I can appreciate certain aspects about it. The music is pretty good and very addicting (I like the Dream High theme song), the characters are very pretty if not all convincing, and the story breaks out of the kdrama norm in several respects, notably via the female lead's unlikeable personality at the beginning and the departure from the first-love-is-forever type of storyline.

Thursday, April 14, 2011

The Deal with the Elderly in Asian Shows

Frankly, it's really annoying how most Asian dramas, and especially Korean ones, portray elderly and older generation characters. They're always super-meddling in a negative way, they have sudden life-threatening health conditions from the most menial arguments, and they're an oxymoronic mixture of super powerful (holding authority over the family's finances, status, and their kids' lives) with childishly feeble (again the frail-as-a-feather health and excessively self-pitying attitude towards life).

Wednesday, March 30, 2011

Oki's Movie

Last weekend I saw Oki's Movie during its showing at the Hong Kong International Film Festival. I'd heard of it before, as it stars two well-known Korean actors- Jung Yumi and Lee Seon-kyun, the latter of whom I'd seen in dramas. I went in without expectations and found it to be an overall rich, thought-provoking 80 mins. Below are my general impressions of the film:

Saturday, March 19, 2011

Jade Palace Lock Heart / Gong


It's been years since I watched a Chinese drama in its entirety. Out of all the major Asian dramas, Chinese ones are in my opinion the most poorly produced in terms of plot, characters, and aesthetics (I'm ethnically Chinese, so don't take this personally). Not only are the topics fairly dry and limited- most involving the imperial age or communist war, but the acting is also exaggerated and the voices nearly always dubbed. In fact, even for Gong, the things I dislike vastly outnumber the things I like. The only reason I watched it was because the main actors had good chemistry and because of my long-lasting affinity for Hana Yori Dango.

Friday, March 11, 2011

Sunny Happiness


This drama is the first TW one I've watched in a while. Generally they're either so cheesy, fake, or badly acted that I can't sit through more than the first episode, but Sunny Happiness showed enough strength, especially in its first half, to inspire me to near-addiction levels. Sadly, this tapered off once the typical drama mechanisms of noble idiocy, useless time-filler scenes, and annoying second leads came in.

Monday, February 21, 2011

Queen of Reversals



Having just finished it a week ago, this drama remains fresh on my mind. It contains the major elements of a strong drama for me:

1. Relatable heroine
2. Unconventional set-up
3. Perfect ending

Thursday, February 17, 2011

Purpose of this Blog



Although started for the purposes of longer, dedicated reviews on less published shows, this blog has since become something of a pan-entertainment vehicle in which I share my thoughts on both airing and aired items. As a long-time drama enthusiast, I personally enjoy reading about not only the Korean drama scene, but also about the current hot shows both here in the States and across Asia. My goal is to touch upon not only the latest TV series or movie, but also on music and books that you may be curious about. Be forewarned that I do get quite heated about shows / topics, both ones I love and ones I'm not so fond of. It's all for personal fun though, and please feel free to chime in with your thoughts through comments!

You can also reach me at jinsightreviews@gmail.com for any questions. Thanks for reading!

Thursday, January 6, 2011

Privacy Policy

Privacy Policy for jinsightreviews.com
The privacy of our visitors to jinsightreviews.com is important.
We recognize that privacy of your personal information is important. Here is information on what types of personal information we receive and collect when you use and visit, and how we safeguard your information. We never sell your personal information to third parties.
Log Files
As with most other websites, we collect and use the data contained in log files. The information in the log files include your IP (internet protocol) address, your ISP (internet service provider, such as AOL or Shaw Cable), the browser you used to visit our site (such as Internet Explorer or Firefox), the time you visited our site and which pages you visited throughout our site.
Cookies and Web Beacons
We do use cookies to store information, such as your personal preferences when you visit our site. This could include only showing you a popup once in your visit, or the ability to login to some of our features, such as forums.
We also use third party advertisements to support our site. Some of these advertisers may use technology such as cookies and web beacons when they advertise on our site, which will also send these advertisers (such as Google through the Google AdSense program) information including your IP address, your ISP , the browser you used to visit our site, and in some cases, whether you have Flash installed. This is generally used for geotargeting purposes (showing New York real estate ads to someone in New York, for example) or showing certain ads based on specific sites visited (such as showing cooking ads to someone who frequents cooking sites).
DoubleClick DART cookies
We also may use DART cookies for ad serving through Google’s DoubleClick, which places a cookie on your computer when you are browsing the web and visit a site using DoubleClick advertising (including some Google AdSense advertisements). This cookie is used to serve ads specific to you and your interests (”interest based targeting”). The ads served will be targeted based on your previous browsing history (For example, if you have been viewing sites about visiting Las Vegas, you may see Las Vegas hotel advertisements when viewing a non-related site, such as on a site about hockey). DART uses “non personally identifiable information”. It does NOT track personal information about you, such as your name, email address, physical address, telephone number, social security numbers, bank account numbers or credit card numbers. You can opt-out of this ad serving on all sites using this advertising by visiting http://www.doubleclick.com/privacy/dart_adserving.aspx
You can chose to disable or selectively turn off our cookies or third-party cookies in your browser settings, or by managing preferences in programs such as Norton Internet Security. However, this can affect how you are able to interact with our site as well as other websites. This could include the inability to login to services or programs, such as logging into forums or accounts.
Deleting cookies does not mean you are permanently opted out of any advertising program. Unless you have settings that disallow cookies, the next time you visit a site running the advertisements, a new cookie will be added.

Disclaimer: Some links to outside sites may generate revenue on a pay-per-click basis.
AdSense Privacy Policy Provided by 
JenSense